Health & Safety Consultation at UNSW

UNSW recognises the valuable contribution employees make to ensuring that the workplace is safe and healthy. The University is committed to the principle of consultation on matters pertaining to health, safety and welfare to capitalise on the knowledge, skills and dedication to health and safety within the UNSW community, and to meet the consultation requirements for employees as specified in the Work Health and Safety Act 2011 and Work Health and Safety Regulation 2017.

WHS consultation processes, resources and tools are defined in UNSW HSMS - Consultation and HS337 Health and Safety Consultation Procedure.

How to Resolve Health & Safety Issues in BABS

Managers and employees must use the established WHS consultation arrangements when attempting to resolve problems. The steps to resolution of such problems are outlined below:

Step 1: Problem reported to supervisor or manager by an employee.

Step 2: If not resolved, the employee reports the problem to their WHS Representative or Chair of the BABS L3 WHS Committee, who will have discussions with the relevant supervisor/manager.

Step 3: If not resolved, the WHS Representative or Chairperson will refer the issue to either their Level 2 WHS Committee, or to the Level 1 WHS Committee if the issue has university–wide implications.

Step 4: If not resolved, the WHS Representative or Chairperson of the Level 3 WHS Committee can invite a SafeWork NSW inspector to attend the workplace to assist in the resolution of the issue.

Advice on WHS problem resolution should be sought from the relevant School HSE Co-ordinator or Faculty or Divisional HSE Co-ordinator. Managers and employees must work cooperatively to resolve WHS problems, and should notify the School HSE Co-ordinator Theresa Kahwati or Faculty of Science HSE Coordinator, Lance Islip prior to requesting assistance from SafeWork NSW.

For further details please consult the 


The BABS Level 3 WHS Committee meets every month between February and October and December. Should you have any WHS issue that needs to be raised at the committee meeting, please advise the BABS HSE Co-ordinator or the Committee chair. If you are interested in joining the committee, please contact the HSE Co-ordinator directly. Minutes and constitution template can be accessed by staff on the BABS shared drive in the WHS minutes folder, or by contacting the committee members.

Chair:         Jai Tree
Akira Gokoolparsadh


Mr Lance Islip - Faculty of Science HSE Co-ordinator


Management Representative

Academics and Co-Chairs

Dr Jai Tree

Associate Professor Kyle Hoehn

HSE Co-ordinator

Ms Theresa Kahwati


Employee Representatives


Dr Tim Williams

Dr Erika Becker

Stefano Vecchiarelli

Professional, Technical and Admnistrative

Dr Jeff Welch

Dr Elessa Marendy

Jason Sercombe

Jessica McConkey


Student Representative

Undergraduate and
Postgraduate Students

Akira Gokoolparsadh (Voineagu Lab)